Kenya passes the baton to the US, CTCN welcomes Erwin Rose as new Chair of its Advisory Board

Omedi Moses Jura shaking hand with Erwin Rose

News facts

Cross-sectoral enabler
Governance and planning
Publication date

Incheon, Korea - 29 March 2023. The Climate Technology Centre and Network (CTCN) announces the appointment of Erwin Rose (United States) as the new chair of its Advisory Board. The announcement was made by the outgoing chair, Moses Omedi Jura (Kenya), who served in the position for the past year.

With his extensive background in sustainable development and climate change, and having served as vice-chair of the CTCN Advisory Board (AB), Erwin Rose has been working at the frontline of climate action, as the leading U.S. negotiator on climate technology development and transfer.

His appointment was welcomed by both the members of the Advisory Board and the CTCN's partner organizations, who recognized his ability to drive innovation, convene partners and engage with global and national leaders in the field of climate adaptation, climate technology and climate financing in developing countries and beyond.

“Omedi Moses Jura helped CTCN converge resources and navigate through a critical phase of the organisation as we planned and launched the joint Technology Mechanism 2023-27 Programme of Work. Erwin Rose will be able to build on these solid foundations, bringing continuity to the work done but also the evolution needed by any organization to branch out and grow”. Rose Mwebaza, Director of the CTCN.

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Technology Mechanism Joint Work Programme for 2023-2027- endorsed by the Parties at COP27 - lays out the Technology Mechanism’s strategy for 2023–2027. It is composed of the joint activities and common areas of work of the Technology Executive Committee (TEC) and the Climate Technology Centre and Network (CTCN), the rolling workplan of the TEC and the Programme of Work of the CTCN.

The new JWP supports countries to achieve the goals of the Paris Agreement and the UNFCCC and to implement national climate plans through transformative technologies.

Omedi Moses Jura, member of the Kenyan Delegation to the UNFCCC, Lead Coordinator on Climate Technology for Kenya, and for the African Group of Negotiators, expressed his confidence in Erwin Rose's ability to continue the important work of the CTCN.

"Kenya is proud to pass the baton to the US, represented by Erwin Rose, with whom I have worked closely in the last year as Vice-Chair of the AB. Erwin is committed, full of ideas and ready to take time to ascertain success. We achieved so much together with the support of the Advisory Board and Secretariat. I have confidence that he and his Vice-Chair will take CTCN to the next level." Omedi Moses Jura, outgoing chair of the CTCN Advisory Board.

Mr Rose, nominated to serve on the Advisory Board by the US Department of State, stated that he feels honored to lead a Board of committed global experts.

“Innovation in climate tech solutions is key to limit global warming to 1.5°C and improve how we adapt to the climate crisis. I look forward to working with our partners and stakeholders to accelerate the transfer and deployment of climate technologies in developing countries, including the most vulnerable communities." Erwin Rose, newly elected chair of the CTCN Advisory Board.

The appointment of the new chair was followed by the election of the new Vice-Chair, Fred Onduri, Uganda, currently representing LCDs and SIDS, who will support Mr Rose in leading the CTCN Advisory Board.

The CTCN is the implementation arm of the Technology Mechanism of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change and is hosted by the UN Environment Programme. The Centre promotes the accelerated transfer of environmentally sound technologies for low-carbon and climate-resilient development at the request of developing countries. The CTC provides technology solutions, capacity building and advice on policy, legal and regulatory frameworks tailored to the needs of individual countries by harnessing the expertise of a global network of technology companies and institutions.

Share this: