Connecting countries to climate technology solutions
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French Russian Spanish Yoruba

Korea contributes to support technology transfer in developing countries


Publication date:

The Republic of Korea’s Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning is contributing one billion South Korean won to support technology transfer initiatives of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Climate Technology Centre & Network (CTCN). The Centre is a key institution in helping nations to implement their climate change commitments under the Paris Agreement.

“Korea is the first Non-Annex 1 country to provide a financial contribution to the Climate Technology Centre. The active growth of the UNFCCC Technology Mechanism is a most urgent task, and the CTCN plays a crucial role as its implementation arm. We also believe that enhancing the linkages between the Technology and Finance Mechanisms is necessary to achieve real and sustainable impact in addressing climate change”, said Mr. Yoon Eok CHOI from the Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning. Mr. Choi serves as Korea’s National Designated Entity, the country’s national focal point on climate technology issues.

The Climate Technology Centre and Network delivers tailored technology solutions and capacity building at the request of developing countries for energy-efficient, low-carbon and climate-resilient development. The CTCN has received over 180 requests for assistance from countries, covering a broad range of sectors including agriculture, early warning, energy, industry, transport, waste management and water.

“As countries around the world seek to meet their mitigation and adaptation goals, the CTCN has harnessed expertise from an expanding global network of over 280 technology institutions, from finance, NGO, private, and research sectors, to provide expert policy and technology support to developing country stakeholders, coordinated by National Designated Entities”, said CTCN Director Jukka Uosukainen.

The Republic of Korea was among a number of countries, including Canada, Denmark, the European Union, Germany, Italy, Japan, Switzerland and the United States who committed over $23 million USD to support the Climate Technology Centre & Network’s assistance to developing countries.

Share this: